Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management Awards

Best paper award

The editorial team of the Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management (JHTM) makes awards each year to the authors of a best paper and two highly commended papers The awards are presented at the annual CAUTHE conference. The award is based on usage statistics and Scopus citation counts of the published papers and an assessment of the papers’ contribution to the research field.

2024 A model of luxury lodge experience quality  Anita Manfreda, Frans Melissen, Rajka Presbury, Scott Richardson, Justin King

2023 What is holding customers back? Assessing the moderating roles of personal and social norms on CSR’S routes to Airbnb repurchase intention in the COVID-19 era. Chuah, S. H. W., Sujanto, R. Y., Sulistiawan, J., & Aw, E. C. X.

2022 Effects of rural revitalization on rural tourism. Jun Yang, Ruxin Yang, Ming-Hsiang Chen, Ching-Hui (Joan) Su, Yin Zhi and Jianchao Xi.

2021 Sleeping in a stranger’s home: A trust formation model for Airbnb. Zhenxing (Eddie) Mao, Margie F. Jones, Mimi Li, Wei Wei, Jiaying Lyum,

2020 Friend or Foe? The complex relationship between indigenous people and policymakers regarding rural tourism in Indonesia’. Ringkar Situmorang, Teddy Trilaksono and Arnold Japutra

2019 Developing a measurement scale for cultural values and norms of Chinese mass travelers. Lianping Ren and Hanqin Qiu

2018 Power in tourism stakeholder collaborations: Power types and power holders. Hiroaki Saito and Lisa Ruhanen

2017 Motivating frontline employees: Role of job characteristics in work and life satisfaction. Xinyuan Zhao, Richard Ghiselli, Rob Law and Jing Ma

Highly commended paper award










Best PhD Paper awards

Current doctoral researchers or recent graduates were invited to submit manuscripts to JHTM based on research undertaken during their doctoral study. Award winning papers received a cash prize, certificate and opportunities of public recognition at the CAUTHE Annual Conference and promotion. Awards are based on PhD Scholar papers published in the previous year and are awarded at the following year’s conference.

Best PhD Paper Award

2024 Roshis Krishna Shrestha, Australian National University, A Place where I belong’ – The ambiguous role of the outsider-within dichotomy among Indigenous Gurung women tourism entrepreneurs in Nepal

2023 Bruce Wan, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, Journaling memorable and meaningful tourism experience: a strengths based approach to technology-mediated reflection

2022 Ding Xu, James Cook University, Australia for his paper Differentiating Tourist Scam Cases: Towards a Taxonomy of Deceptive Schemes

2021 Alexandra Cehan, University of Iasi, A multilayer network approach to tourism collaboration

Highly recommended PhD paper

2024 Zhiwei (CJ) Lin, Sun Yat-sen University, The rising environmentalists: Fostering xenvironmental goal attainment through volunteer tourism

2023 Ziang Zhang, Nanjing Normal University, Nanjing, China, Scale theory and tourism destination development towards a new theoretical tool

2022 Montira Intason, University of Otago, New Zealand for her paper Examining the interplay between a hallmark cultural event, tourism, and commercial activities. A case study of the Songkran Festival

2021 Ryan Yung, Griffith University, VR the World: Experimenting with emotion and presence for tourism marketing


Best reviewer awards

The JHTM makes awards each year for reviewers based on both the number and speed of the reviews, as well as the quality of the reviews provided by these individuals. The best reviewer award recipients are:

2024 Al-Ansi Amr (Macau University of Science and Technology) | Dimitrios Stylidis (University of Crete, Greece) | Jie Sun (USA) | Jun Wen (Edith Cowan University, Australia) | Shaohua Yang (Anhui University of Technology, China)

2023 Al-Ansi Amr (Sejong University, South Korea) | Jun Wen (Edith Cowan University, Australia) | Shaohua Yang (Anhui University of Technology, China)

2022 Anna Farmaki (Cyprus University of Technology) | Jun Wen (Edith Cowan University, Australia) | Raymond Rastegar (The University of Queensland, Australia)

2021 Dr Kyle Woosnam (Clemson University, USA) | Professor Girish Prayag (University of Canterbury, New Zealand) | Dr Yao-Chin Wang (University of Florida) | Dr Rawan Nimri (Griffith University, Australia)

2020 Aaron Hsiao (Griffith University, Australia)

2019 Mingming Cheng (University of Otago, New Zealand) | Sebastian Filep (University of Otago, New Zealand)

2018 Joan Henderson (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) | Noel Scott (Griffith University, Australia)

2017 Sebastian Filep (University of Otago, New Zealand) | Nuno Gustavo (Escola Superior de Hotelaria e Turismo do Estoril, Portugal) | Metin Kozak (Dokuz Eylül Üniversitesi, Turkey) | Surej John (Waikato University, New Zealand)


Professor Marianna Sigala
University of South Australia