Fellows Award

The Fellows Award is given each year to an academic from Australia or New Zealand who is seen to have made the greatest contribution to Australasian tourism, hospitality and/or event education or research from those who have been nominated. The Award is presented at the annual conference dinner.

Past Fellows Award Winners


  • Education: Dr Mieke Witsel, Southern Cross University
  • Research: Dr Sarah Gardiner, Griffith University.

2018 Dr Richard Robinson, The University of Queensland for contribution to tourism and hospitality education


  • Dr Gabby Walters, The University of Queensland


  • Dr Tamara Young, University of Newcastle

2016 Dr Karen Hughes, The University of Queensland

2015 Joint winners

  • Dr Jennie Small, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Dr Matthew Lamont, Southern Cross University

2014 Dr Elisa Backer, Federation University, Australia

2013 Joint winners

  • Dr Freya Higgins-Desbiolles, University of South Australia
  • Dr Erica Wilson, Southern Cross University, Queensland


  • Dr Glen Croy, Monash University, Victoria


  • Dr Warwick Frost, La Trobe University, Victoria

2011 Dr Deborah Edwards, University of Technology, Sydney

2010 Dr Lisa Ruhanen, The University of Queensland

2010 Joint winners

  • Dr Jennifer Laing, Monash University
  • Dr Leonie Lockstone, Victoria University

2009 Dr Pierre Benckendorff, James Cook University